17 - 20 March 2025
Vancouver, Canada

SPIE Smart Structures + NDE program

Make plans to be part of this important gathering of conferences, presentations, technical, and special events

Building a great program

Each year this important community comes together to share and discuss current research, hear the latest breakthroughs, and connect with colleagues.

Be sure to review the conference topics to see which research area best aligns with yours. We welcome your participation. 

Browse the call for papers

Call for papers is now open
View the conference topics listed below.

Conference topics include

  • Biologically Inspired Materials, Processes, and Systems (BIMPS) 2025
  • Electroactive Polymer Actuators, Sensors, and Devices (EAPAD) 2025
  • Multifunctional Materials and Structures I
  • Soft Mechatronics and Wearable Systems 2025
  • Sensors and Smart Structures Technologies for Civil, Mechanical, and Aerospace Systems 2025
  • Nondestructive Characterization and Monitoring of Advanced Materials, Aerospace, Civil Infrastructure, and Transportation XIX
  • Health Monitoring of Structural and Biological Systems XIX
  • Digital Twins, AI, and NDE for Industry Applications and Energy Systems 2025

What the Smart Structures event experience has to offer

Four days of exciting content and connecting with community

  • Plenary talks
  • Technical presentations
  • Networking events
  • Poster sessions
  • Professional development
  • EAP-in-action demonstrations

SPIE Smart Structures attendees discussing  conference content and comparing notes

An invitation to participate

The meeting for leading researchers and engineers as they share the latest developments in advanced materials, sensor systems, NDE, and structural health monitoring for applications in automotive, aerospace, civil infrastructure, and Industry 4.0. Join your peers within the sensors community. Read the full invitation from the chairs.

Innovation and research acknowledged

Join us in celebrating the research achievements within the field of smart structures and advanced materials – these awards are directed toward student authors and early-career scientists.

2025 Symposium Chairs

Haiying Huang

The Univ. of Texas at Arlington
(United States)

Hani Naguib

Univ. of Toronto

2025 Symposium Co-chairs

Asha Hall

DEVCOM Army Research Lab.
(United States)

Jae-Hung Han

(Korea, Republic of)

Executive Organizing Committee

Yangyang Chen, Hong Kong Univ. of Science and Technology (Hong Kong, China)
Saman Farhangdoust, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical Univ. (United States)
Wei Gao, Caltech (United States)
Mariantonieta Gutierrez Soto, The Pennsylvania State Univ. (United States)
Andrew Gyekenyesi, Ohio Aerospace Institute (United States)
Guoliang Huang, Peking Univ. (China)
Mato Knez, CIC nanoGUNE Consolider (Spain)
Akhlesh Lakhtakia, The Pennsylvania State Univ. (United States)
Xiaopeng Li, Toyota Research Institute, North America (United States)
Maria Pina Limongelli, Politecnico di Milano (Italy)
John D. Madden, The Univ. of British Columbia (Canada)
Russell Mailen, Auburn Univ. (United States)
Raúl Martín-Palma, Univ. Autónoma de Madrid (Spain)
Ching-Tai Ng, The Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
Christopher Niezrecki, Univ. of Massachusetts Lowell (United States)
Mostafa Nouh, Univ. at Buffalo (United States)
Il-Kwon Oh, KAIST (Korea, Republic of)
Didem Ozevin, Univ. of Illinois Chicago (United States)
Kara Peters, North Carolina State Univ. (United States)
Fulvio Pinto, Univ. of Bath (United Kingdom)
Fabrizio Ricci, Univ. degli Studi di Napoli Federico II (Italy)
Piervincenzo Rizzo, Univ. of Pittsburgh (United States)
Stefan Seelecke, Saarland Univ. (Germany)
Peter Shull, The Pennsylvania State Univ. (United States)
Anne Ladegaard Skov, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
Zhongqing Su, The Hong Kong Polytechnic Univ. (Hong Kong, China)
Christopher Sugino, Stevens Institute of Technology (United States)
Kentaro Takagi, Toyohashi Univ. of Technology (Japan)
Serife Tol, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
Aimy Wissa, Princeton Univ. (United States)
H. Felix Wu, U.S. Dept. of Energy (United States)
Jinkyu Yang, Seoul National Univ. (Korea, Republic of)
Woon-Hong Yeo, Georgia Institute of Technology (United States)
TzuYang Yu, Univ. of Massachusetts Lowell (United States)

Stay connected

Stay informed on event news Sign up for emails Sign up for emails ...
Download the free SPIE app Get the conference app Get the conference app ...