Print PageEmail Page

    Past Event Overview

    Smart Structures & NDE 2008 Program Information:

    2008 Highlights

    The week was filled with presentations showcasing technical advancements and opportunities for information exchange and networking.


    Call for Papers will begin May 2008


    Smart Structures & NDE - two distinct symposia in one great location. Smart Structures draws a tightly focused audience working on materials, sensor systems, control, sensing, actuation, and damping. NDE attracts those involved in the safety and reliability of structures, infrared sensing and testing equipment, and structural monitoring.

    Adaptive Structures & Mechanisms

    • Smart Structures & Vehicles
    • Actuators and Damping
    • Biomimetics and Robotic Systems
    • Multifunctional Materials
    • Embedded and Self Diagnosis Sensors
    • Modeling and Control
    • Sensor Networks
    • Real-Time NDE
    • Structural Health Monitoring

    Symposium Chairs

    Alison B. Flatau
    Univ. of Maryland/College Park

    George Y. Baaklini
    NASA Glenn Research Ctr.

    Donald J. Leo
    Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)

    Kara J. Peters
    North Carolina State Univ.

    Executive Committee

    Mehdi Ahmadian, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ.

    Yoseph Bar-Cohen, Jet Propulsion Lab.

    Emilio P. Calius, Industrial Research Ltd. (New Zealand)

    Marcelo J. Dapino, The Ohio State Univ.

    L. Porter Davis, Honeywell, Inc.

    Michael A. Demetriou, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

    Aaron Diaz, Pacific Northwest National Lab.

    Wolfgang Ecke, Institut für Physikalische Hochtechnologie e.V. (Germany)

    Mehrdad N. Ghasemi-Nejhad, Univ. of Hawaii at Manoa

    Victor Giurgiutiu, Univ. of South Carolina

    B. Kyle Henderson, Air Force Research Lab.

    Kumar V. Jata, Air Force Research Lab.

    Tribikram Kundu, The Univ. of Arizona

    Douglas K. Lindner, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ.

    Ajit K. Mal, Univ. of California/Los Angeles

    M. Brett McMickell, Honeywell, Inc.

    Norbert G. Meyendorf, Univ. of Dayton

    Zoubeida Ounaies, Texas A&M Univ.

    Andrei M. Shkel, Univ. of California/Irvine

    Peter J. Shull, The Pennsylvania State Univ.

    Masayoshi Tomizuka, Univ. of California/Berkeley

    Vijay K. Varadan, Univ. of Arkansas

    Dietmar W. Vogel, Fraunhofer-Institut für Zuverlässigkeit und Mikrointegration (Germany)

    H. Felix Wu, National Institute of Standards and Technology

    Chung-Bang Yun, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)

    Back to top