Print PageEmail Page

    Past Event Overview

    This 7th NIH workshop brought together experts in the diagnosis and treatment of several important health issues we face today. The format will include lectures by top people in the biophotonics field, as well as panels of experts addressing the needs for imaging brain injury (panel 1) and the need for standardization (panel 2) of optical methods.

    NIH 2011 was a great opportunity to join with others to be at the forefront of efforts to discover and develop the latest light-based tools for applications to diagnose and treat disease and apply technologies to address cures in the following areas:

    • Brain
    • Eye
    • Breast
    • Image guided intervention / surgery
    • Minimally invasive technologies
    • Microcirculation
    • Molecular Probes and Targets

    This event was dedicated to and in memory of Britton Chance and Mamoru Tamura.

    Britton Chance    Mamoru Tamura


    Workshop Chairs

    Amir Gandjbakche

        Amir Gandjbakhche,
       National Institutes of Health




     Bruce Tromberg

        Bruce Tromberg,
        Univ. of California/Irvine



    Workshop Technical Coordinator
                 Jana Kainerstorfer

        Jana Kainerstorfer,
        National Institutes of Health


    Program Committee

    Sam Achilefu, Washington Univ. School of Medicine in St. Louis
    Houston Baker, National Cancer Institute 
    Albert-Claude Boccara, Ecole Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles (France)
    Victor Chernomordik, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
    Stavros Demos, Lawrence Livermore National Lab.
    James Fujimoto, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Israel Gannot, Tel-Aviv Univ. (Israel)
    Enrico Gratton, Univ. of California, Irvine
    Jeremy Hebden, Univ. College London (United Kingdom)
    Elizabeth M. C. Hillman, Columbia Univ.
    Jay Knutson, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
    Alan Koretsky, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
    Xingde Li, The Johns Hopkins Univ.
    Dennis Matthews, Lawrence Livermore National Lab.
    Nicole Morgan, NIH Division of Bioengineering and Physical Science
    Josh Pfefer, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
    Brian Pogue, Dartmouth College
    Kambiz Pourrezaei, Drexel Univ.
    Jessica Ramella-Roman, The Catholic Univ. of America
    John Schotland, Univ. of Michigan
    Behrouz Shabestari, National Institutes of Health
    Paul Smith, NIH Division of Bioengineering and Physical Science
    Mamoru Tamura, Hokkaido Univ. (Japan)
    Martin van der Mark, Philips Research (Netherlands)
    Tuan Vo-Dinh, Duke Univ.
    Yantian Zhang, National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering