Print PageEmail Page

    Past Event Overview

    SPIE Laser Damage 2009 concluded 23 September.

    The Laser Damage Symposium is the leading forum for the exchange of information on the physics/technology of materials for high-power/high-energy lasers. Before 2009, the event was named Boulder Damage. The focus of the event is unchanged.

    The series of conference proceedings has grown to be a comprehensive source of information on optics for lasers and includes topics on materials and thin film preparation, durability, properties modeling, testing, and component fabrication.

    This year's Symposium drew a 12% increase in papers versus last year, and was kicked off by a roundtable led by co-chairs Vitaly Gruzdev and M.J. Soileau. Other highlights included an open house at Alpine Research Optics, all-day poster sessions, award presentations, and a wine & cheese reception at the National Center for Atmospheric Research.

    Next year's meeting is tentatively scheduled for 20-22 September 2010 in Boulder, Colorado.

    See details of the program:

    The meeting focused on the following topics:

    Laser-Induced Damage Issues

    • Photonic bandgap materials
    • High power fiber lasers
    • Fibers for high power laser applications
    • High power, ultra fast, lasers
    • Multi-layer thin films
    • Nonlinear optical and laser host materials

    Other Laser-Induced Damage Related Issues

    • Measurement protocols
    • Materials characterization
    • Fundamental mechanisms
    • Contamination of optical components
    • Surface and bulk defects

    MINI-SYMPOSIUM: Femtosecond Laser Induced Damage

    Symposium Organizers

    Conference Co-Chairs: Gregory J. Exarhos,  Pacific Northwest National Lab.; Vitaly E. Gruzdev, Univ. of Missouri, Columbia; Detlev Ristau, Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (Germany),M. J. Soileau, College of Optics & Photonics/Univ. of Central Florida; Christopher J. Stolz, Lawrence Livermore National Lab.

    International Program Committee: Detlev Ristau, Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (Germany), Committee Chair; James E. Andrew, Atomic Weapons Establishment plc (United Kingdom); Jonathan W. Arenberg, TRW Inc.; Mireille Commandré, Institut Fresnel (France); Stavros Demos, Lawrence Livermore National Lab.; Jerry B. Franck, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate; Leonid B. Glebov, College of Optics & Photonics/Univ. of Central Florida; Klaus Mann, Laser-Lab. Göttingen e.V. (Germany); Masataka Murahara, Tokai Univ. (Japan); Jerome Neauport, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France); Semyon Papernov,Amy L. Rigatti, Univ. of Rochester; Jianda Shao, Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics (China); Michelle Shinn, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Lab.; Kunio Yoshida, Osaka Institute of Technology (Japan)

    Founding Organizers: Arthur H. Guenther and Alexander J. Glass

    Technical Contact: Kent Rochford, National Institute of Standards and Technology