SPIE Officers and Directors

SPIE is an international organization incorporated as a not-for-profit United States corporation. The Membership operates the Society through an elected Board of Directors, who establish various standing and ad hoc committees to conduct activities of interest to the Membership.

The Board and its Executive Committee also establish policy and strategy, assure that the Society bylaws are followed in the conduct of Society business, and approve the budgets for expenditure of Society resources.

The collective talents of our Members make the Society a powerful force in the scientific community. Shaping the direction of that force are the members of the SPIE Board of Directors, Executive Committee, and standing committees.

SPIE Officers, Board Members and committee chairs can be contacted by emailing governance@spie.org.

SPIE Officers 2023

Bernard Kress

Google, United States

Anita Mahadevan-Jansen

Vanderbilt Univ., United States
Immediate Past President

Jennifer Barton

The Univ. of Arizona, United States

Peter de Groot

Zygo Corp., United States
Vice President

Jim McNally

StratTHNK Associates LLC, United States

Kent Rochford

SPIE, United States
CEO, Advisor

SPIE Board of Directors 2023

Allison Barto

Ball Aerospace, United States
Director 2022-2024

Scott Bass

Edmund Optics Inc., Unites States
Board Advisor; Chair, Corporate and Exhibitor Committee

Audrey Bowden

Vanderbilt Univ., United States
Director 2022-2024

Rainer Erdmann

PicoQuant GmbH, Germany
Director 2023

Rebecca Fahrig

Siemens Healthineers, Germany
Director 2022-2024

Donis Flagello

Nikon Research Corp. of America, United States
Board Advisor; Chair, Symposia Committee

Maryellen Giger

The Univ. of Chicago, United States
Board Advisor; Chair, Membership and Communities Committee

David Hagan

CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics
Director 2023-2025

Ruth Houbertz

ThinkMade Engineering & Consulting, Germany
Director 2021-2023

Gong-Ru Lin

National Taiwan Univ., Taiwan
Director 2022-2024

Paul Montgomery

CNRS, France
Director 2023-2025

Kyle Myers

Puente Solutions LLC, United States
Director 2021-2023

Jessica DeGroote Nelson

Edmund Optics Inc., United States
Director 2023-2025

Miles Padgett

Univ. of Glasgow, United Kingdom
Director 2023-2025

William "Pat" Roach

Air Force Office of Scientific Research, United States
Director 2022-2024

Joseph Shaw

Montana State Univ., United States
Director 2021-2023

Cather Simpson

University of Aukland, New Zealand
Director 2021-2023; Chair, Publications Committee

Laura Waller

Univ. of California, Berkeley, United States
Director 2023-2025