SPIE María J. Yzuel Educator Award

The SPIE María J. Yzuel Educator Award is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to optics education by an SPIE instructor or an educator in the field. Honorarium $2,000.

Across her career, María J. Yzuel has worked in diffraction image theory, image quality evaluation, apodization, applications to photolithography, optical pattern recognition, color information in correlators, liquid crystal devices, and design of filters. In 1971, she was the first woman to receive a professorship in optics and structure of matter at the University of Zaragoza; she joined the Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona’s physics department in 1983. Yzuel has served as the president of SPIE, as the vice president of the International Commission for Optics, as general secretary of the European Optical Society, and as president of the Spanish Society of Optics.


Alexis Spilman Vogt
Monroe Community College, United States

For excellence in optics-technician and associate’s-degree education and training, and for being a superb strategic educator in addressing the needs of an underserved market.

Alexis Vogt standing in front of a classroom at an SPIE event

Past Recipients

2022 - Rajpal Sirohi
2021 - Bishnu Pal
2020 - Kathleen Richardson
2019 - Rick Trebino
2018 - Stephen M. Pompea
2017 - John E. Greivenkamp
2016 - Cheng Chung (C.C.) Lee
2015 - Virendra Mahajan
2014 - Cristina Solano
2013 - Barry L. Shoop
2012 - Wei R. Chen
2011 - Active Learning in Optics & Photonics Team
2010 - Nicholas M. Massa
2009 - Fenna Hanes
2008 - Ajoy Ghatak
2007 - Valery Tuchin
2006 - James Palmer
2005 - Gallieno Denardo
2004 - James R. Janesick
2003 - Judith Donnelly