SPIE Harold E. Edgerton Award in High-Speed Optics

The SPIE Harold E. Edgerton Award in High-Speed Optics is presented for outstanding contributions to optical or photonic techniques in the application and understanding of high speed physical phenomena. The development of new technologies and the new application of existing technologies shall be considered in the determination of the award. Honorarium $2,000.

Harold Eugene "Doc" Edgerton (April 6, 1903 – January 4, 1990), also known as Papa Flash, was a professor of electrical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is largely credited with transforming the stroboscope from an obscure laboratory instrument into a common device. Edgerton co-founded EG&G Inc, which invented and manufactured the Kytron (the detonation device for the hydrogen bomb), and supervised many of America's nuclear testing operations with a major role in photographing and recording the nuclear tests.


Tara Fortier
National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States

For pioneering contributions to the development of frequency combs based on mode-locked lasers and their applications in metrology.

Past Recipients

2022 - Mona Jarrahi
2021 - Vladislav Yakovlev
2020 - Alan R. Fry
2019 - John Dudley
2018 - Sterling J. Backus
2017 - Mikhail Y. Schelev
2016 - Christopher P.J. Barty
2014 - Jeffrey Squier
2013 - Martin C. Richardson
2012 - Luke Lester
2011 - Daniel James Kane
2010 - J. Gary Eden
2006 - T. Goji Etoh
2003 - Alexandry Aciu
2002 - George A. Kyrala
2001 - Peter W. W. Fuller
2000 - Robert G. Root
1999 - Rick P. Trebino
1998 - Experimental Dynamics Imaging Team, Air Force Research Laboratory
1997 - Gerard A. Mourou
1996 - Manfred Hugenschmidt
1995 - Alan M. Frank
1994 - George J. Yates
1993 - Robert D. Shoberg
1992 - Ravinder K. Jain
1991 - Robert P. Murkshe
1990 - Charles V. Shank
1989 - Erich P. Ippen