SPIE Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography

The SPIE Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography is presented for outstanding accomplishments in microlithographic technology, especially those furthering the development of semiconductor lithographic imaging and patterning solutions. Honorarium $2,000.

Frits Zernike (July 16, 1888 - March 10, 1966) was a Dutch chemist, physicist and mathematician who won the Nobel Prize for physics in 1953 for his invention of the phase-contrast microscope. He discovered that ghost lines that occur to the left and right of each primary line in spectra created by means of a diffraction grating, have their phase shifted from that of the primary line by 90 degrees, leading to his phase contrast technique in microscopy. His orthogonal circle polynomials provided a solution to the optimum 'balancing' problem of aberrations in optical instruments.


Anthony Yen
ASML, United States

For three decades of contributions in advancing microlithography technology, including developing extreme-ultraviolet lithography for high-volume manufacture of semiconductor integrated circuits.

Previous Recipients

2022 - Harry Levinson
2021 - Bruce Smith
2020 - Winfried Kaiser
2019 - Obert Wood II, Akiyoshi Suzuki
2017 - Donis Flagello
2016 - Yan Borodovsky
2015 - Ralph Dammel
2014 - Mordechai Rothschild
2013 - David Markle
2012 - John Bruning
2011 - Andrew R. Neureuther
2010 - Marc D. Levenson
2009 - Chris Mack
2008 - Martin van den Brink
2007 - David Williamson
2006 - Timothy Brunner
2005 - C. Grant Willson
2004 - Burn J. Lin