SPIE Aden and Marjorie Meinel Technology Achievement Award

The SPIE Aden and Marjorie Meinel Technology Achievement Award is presented to recognize outstanding technical accomplishment in optics, electro-optics, photonic engineering, or imaging. The recipient(s) shall have contributed significantly to the advancement of one or more of these areas with specific demonstration(s) or application(s). Honorarium $2,000.

Aden Meinel was the founding director of the University of Arizona Optical Sciences Center and the Kitt Peak National Observatory. With his wife and research partner Marjorie Meinel, he also developed next-generation space-telescope concepts and pioneered the use of solar energy. In the 1980s they were hired as Distinguished Visiting Scientists at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, where they helped develop next-generation space telescope concepts.


Wolfgang Fink
University of Arizona, United States

For pioneering, sustained contributions to the development of transformational opto-medical examination and device technologies, with particular focus on visual prostheses for the blind, ophthalmology, and tele-ophthalmology.

Current winner

2022 - Ge Wang
2021 - Shouleh Nikzad
2020 - Sanjay Krishna
2019 - Joe C. Campbell
2018 - Paul D. Dapkus
2017 - Edward J. Delp III
2016 - Kent D. Choquette
2015 - Keith B. Doyle
2014 - Rajendra Singh
2013 - Alan C. Bovik
2012 - The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO)
2011 - James J. Coleman
2010 - Akhlesh Lakhtakia
2009 - James G. Grote
2008 - Bahram Javidi
2007 - Ali Adibi
2006 - Jean-Louis de Bougrenet de la Tocnaye
2005 - Sanjit K. Mitra
2004 - Ivan Bozovic
2002 - Institute for Roentgen Optics (IRO)
2001 - Kenneth E. Moore
2000 - Pallab Bhattacharya, Augusto L. Gutierrez-Aitken and Kao-Chih Syao
1999 - Tatsuo Harada
1998 - Narendra Ahuja
1997 - Jean-Pierre Laude
1996 - State Scientific Centre of Russian Federation RD&P Centre "Orion"
1995 - Paul Scherrer Institute Zurich, K. Knop, M.T. Gale, R. Morf
1994 - Richard B. Dyott, Andrews Corporation
1993 - David L. Fried, Optical Sciences Company; Robert Q. Fugate,
          Air Force Phillips Laboratory; Richard Hutchin, Optical Physics
          Consulting; Charles A. Primmerman, Massachusetts Institute of
1992 - Vincent J. Tekippe, Gould, Inc.
1991 - U. S. Air Force Phillips Laboratory, Relay Mirror Program Office, Ball 
          Aerospace Systems, and Applied Technology Associates, Inc.
1990 - Honeywell Corporation
1989 - The Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
1988 - The WYKO Corporation
1987 - The Optical Group of the Basic Research Laboratory of Balzers AG 
1986 - The Perkin-Elmer Corp.
1985 - Eastman Kodak Company
1984 - Darryl E. Gustafson and Thomas I. Harris, Optical Research Associates
1983 - Harold E. Bennett and Jean M. Bennett, Michelson Laboratory, Naval
          Weapons Center
1982 - Optical Coating Laboratory, Inc.
1981 - Tatsuo Izawa, Nippon Telephone & Telegraph; Donald B. Keck, Peter 
          C.Schultz, Corning Glass Works; John B. MacChesney, Bell
1980 - James B. Bryan, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory; Philip
          Steger, Oak RidgeY-12 Facility; Theodore T. Saito, U. S. Air Force
1979 - Charles DeVoe, Corning Glass Works; Clarence Babcock, Owens