SPIE, the International Society for Optics and Photonics, Announces Its 2020 Society Awards

The 23 distinguished award recipients represent achievements across a wide range of light-based sciences as well as the critical advancements made by these technologies

13 November 2019

2020 SPIE Gold Medal winner Ursula Keller.

TOP OF HER CLASS: 2020 SPIE Gold Medal winner Ursula Keller.

BELLINGHAM, Washington, USA and CARDIFF, UK - The Awards Committee of SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, today announced the recipients of its prestigious annual awards. Honoring transformative advancements in multiple areas — including medicine, astronomy, lithography, optical metrology, and community-focused achievements — the Society's awards recognize technical accomplishments as well as committed service to SPIE and the support of its organizational mission.

SPIE Gold Medal:  Ursula Keller
For career-long pioneering contributions in ultrafast science and technology, including the development of practical ultrashort pulse lasers; the study of fundamental mechanisms and limits to mode-locking and optical pulse formation; the invention of techniques for frequency comb generation and stabilization; and groundbreaking studies of the physics of light matter interactions on attosecond timescales.

SPIE President's Award:  Daniel Vukobratovich
For his outstanding and long-term commitment to SPIE and its educational programs by sharing his expertise in optomechanical design through more than 100 SPIE Short Courses and other activities.

SPIE Directors' Award:  Gary Spiegel
For his long service to SPIE and the global optics community as a business leader, for his significant leadership as SPIE Treasurer during challenging global economic conditions, and for his service to the future of SPIE as a member of the SPIE CEO Search Committee.

SPIE Britton Chance Award in Biomedical Optics:  Steven L. Jacques
In recognition of pioneering work in the field of biomedical optics.

SPIE Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award:  Nirmala Ramanujam
In recognition of her development of disruptive low-cost, high-performance technologies to enable see-and-treat paradigms for cervical cancer prevention.

SPIE A.E. Conrady Award in Optical Engineering:  Pablo Benítez
In recognition of pioneering discoveries in both nonimaging and imaging optics, including the simultaneous multiple surface (SMS) method of optical design for freeform surfaces.

SPIE Harrison H. Barrett Award in Medical Imaging:  Harold L. Kundel
In recognition of his many contributions to the field of medical image perception. His research has shed light into the nature of misses in radiology, as well as in the acquisition of expertise in this domain.

SPIE Harold E. Edgerton Award in High-Speed Optics:  Alan R. Fry
In recognition of his many contributions to the laser industry as well as industrial and scientific applications of ultra-fast laser technology.

SPIE Dennis Gabor Award in Diffractive Optics:  Pietro Ferraro
In recognition of significant contributions to the development of digital holography.

SPIE George W. Goddard Award in Space and Airborne Optics:  Oswald Siegmund
In recognition of his efforts to advance the development of photodetectors, microchannel plates and anode readout techniques.

SPIE Mozi Award:  Yuri Kivshar
In recognition of pioneering research in nonlinear metamaterials and meta-optics, and the demonstration of efficient metadevices and meta-lenses based on all-dielectric Mie-resonant nanophotonics.

SPIE G. G. Stokes Award in Optical Polarization:  Tatiana Novikova
In recognition of her research in Mueller polarimetry for the development of techniques used in predicting and measuring the transfer of polarized light through a turbid media, in particular polarized light propagation via atmospheric transmission and biological tissue.

SPIE Chandra S. Vikram Award in Optical Metrology:  James E. Millerd
In recognition of the invention and commercialization of technology for reducing the effects of vibration and turbulence in interferometric optical metrology.

SPIE Frits Zernike Award in Microlithography:  Winfried Kaiser
In recognition of exemplary contributions to advancing the state-of-the-art lithographic optical systems, including EUV, that have enabled the continuation of Moore's law.

SPIE Diversity Outreach Award:  Jessica Wade
In recognition of her extensive public engagement surrounding the issues of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM), and for championing gender equity and diversity in these fields.

SPIE Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award in Photonics:  John H. Lehman
In recognition of the development of innovative tools for laser power and energy measurements spanning ultraviolet to THz wavelengths, and from sub-microWatt to multi-kiloWatt power levels.

SPIE Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize:  John R. Rogers
In recognition of a lifetime dedication to optical design, for outstanding service to the academic optics community, to the optics industry, and to the professional optics societies.

SPIE Early Career Achievement Award — Academic Focus:  Vivian Ferry and Gordon Wetzstein
Ferry: In recognition of her contributions to the understanding of light-matter interactions in solar energy conversion, and the development of optical materials for plasmonics, metamaterials, and nanocrystals.
Wetzstein: In recognition of outstanding contributions to computational imaging and display technologies.

SPIE Early Career Achievement Award — Industry/Government Focus:  Sona Hosseini and Nishant Mohan
Hosseini: In recognition of her innovative optical design work on ultra-miniature heterodyne spectrometers.
Mohan: In recognition of his innovative work in improving vision and eye health by development of novel contact lenses and OCT instrumentation, impacting the health of millions of people around the world.

SPIE Maria J. Yzuel Educator Award:  Kathleen Richardson
In recognition of her sustained contributions to global research, education and training in optical materials.

SPIE Aden and Marjorie Meinel Technology Achievement Award:  Sanjay Krishna
In recognition of the first demonstration of single color and dual color nBn superlattice detectors and focal plane arrays.

The complete listing of all SPIE awards and recipients is available here.

About SPIE

SPIE is the international society for optics and photonics, an educational not-for-profit organization founded in 1955 to advance light-based science, engineering, and technology. The Society serves more than 255,000 constituents from 183 countries, offering conferences and their published proceedings, continuing education, books, journals, and the SPIE Digital Library. In 2019, SPIE provided more than $5 million in community support including scholarships and awards, outreach and advocacy programs, travel grants, public policy, and educational resources. www.spie.org.

Daneet Steffens
Public Relations Manager
+1 360 685 5478